alt News alt Catalog alt Collection alt Artists alt Contact alt Newsletter alt
Artists alt alt

A 2 violes esgales

A Deux Violes Esgales was formed when
2 young musicians, Jonathan Dunford and Sylvia Abramowicz,
Viol players, met at the Schola Cantorum
In Basel, Switzerland. Perceiving both the
Opportunity and the artistic necessity for
Liberating great, neglected 17th and 18th century musical works from their long slumber,
Eager to move so many treasures back into the light, soon joining forces with other like-minded musicians --
Singers, lutenists, theorbo, harpsichord, and harp players -- all
Enthusiastic about bringing the experience of such ravishing works to new audiences,
Sylvia and Jonathan have
Garnered great acclaim.
A 2 Violes Esgales has consistently performed before packed concert halls worldwide,
Leaving dazzled audiences with musical experiences to remember for a lifetime, and
Enriching the cultural heritage with a range of music, forgotten and familiar, 
Starting with pieces from the Renaissance up to those of the present day.

MF8024 Suites for two viols
Marin Marais
Suites for two viols
A 2 violes esgales

Jonathan Dunford,  basse de viole
Sylvia Abramowicz, basse de viole
Thomas Dunford, archiluth

Of all the French court composers Marin Marais is unparalleled. He illumined the court of the most powerful king in seventeenth century Europe and has remained for three centuries as a monument, a source of elegant musical pleasure to musicians and music lovers alike.

In 1689 Marais published a premier in France: a “basso continuo” part for this first book. This is revolutionary work. Marais goes even further in his praise of the theorbo in his second book of Pièces de Viole (1701) mentioning the theorbo as being an instrument apt for performing the solo viol part.

Musica Ficta Musica Ficta Musica Ficta